Holistic Education

House System

The House System is modelled upon the Houses of Harrow School, London. The school is divided vertically into six Houses (three from year 2020-21), with two additional Boarding Houses (The Grove and The Park).

The House system at Harrow Chongqing is central to our students’ wellbeing and personal development as they journey through their school career and progress into life beyond school. Based upon the traditional House system of Harrow UK, it is a fundamental ingredient in providing a personalised learning environment in which each child is personally known by a key member of staff.

All students belong to one House and develop a strong sense of belonging and allegiance to their House over the course of their time at School.

In the Lower School, students come together in their Houses for such events as competing for House sport trophies, singing competitions etc. Each student’s pastoral care is provided by their Class Teacher and guidance and oversight is provided by the Heads of Phase in the Lower School.

Students in the Upper School also belong to one of these six ‘Day Houses’ which form part of their pastoral care. Each House is led by a Housemaster/mistress (Hm). The Housemasters/mistresses are supported by the Head of Pastoral Care and work with form tutors to provide outstanding guidance.

The House system allows close personal tutoring to become a reality and is at the heart of the Harrow philosophy. Such a system develops and maintains a ‘small school’ family atmosphere. Importantly, the House system serves as an important link between school and home, one in which parents can benefit from a clear line of communication from their child’s tutor and Housemaster/mistress.

As part of the strategic vision at Harrow Chongqing, the House system is vital to ensuring all students achieve their full academic and individual potential, which will in turn offer them a supportive environment in which they can flourish. 

The Six Houses

Churchill House — Named after the British Prime Minister during WW2, who led Britain to victory and again from 1951 to 1955. He attended Harrow school.

Song Qing Ling House –Named after the important politician. In May 1981, she was given the special title of “Honorary President of the People’s Republic of China”. Regarded by many as the Mother of modern China.

Keller House – Named after a major 20th century humanitarian, educator and writer, who was undeterred by deafness and blindness. She is known the world over as a symbol of courage in the face of overwhelming odds.

Curie House — Named after Polish physicist and chemist who conducted pioneering research on radioactivity. She was the first woman to win a Noble Prize (twice).

Lyon House — Named after the wealthy 16th century English landowner, who was the founder of Harrow School. He also started a number of charity projects.

Kong Zi house — Named after one of the greatest philosophers in China, who advocated that everyone should be educated, and education should be based on individual talent.

House events take place throughout the year and include:

  • Sports Days
  • Charity Events
  • Dance, signing, artistic competitions
  • Harrow Ducker
  • House Music
  • Different sports and swimming competitions

The Houses afford students a smaller, closer community within the school, and broaden the range of activities and support available. Students Houses can be identified though the student’s uniform, which includes a House t-shirt, worn during House events and every Friday.

Points are awarded to Houses for winning and placing in competitions. At the end of each academic year, the number of points accumulated by each House is totalled and the ‘winning’ House is recognised.